New York

New York lies on an area of approximately 785 km² at the mouth of the Hudson River, on the Atlantic Ocean, while the metropolitan area also includes areas located in the two adjacent states of New Jersey and Connecticut. With 8.8 million inhabitants, it is the most populous city in the state of New York and in the United States, doubly surpassing Los Angeles, the second largest city in the country by population.

The metropolitan agglomeration includes approximately 25 million inhabitants, which makes it the eleventh city in the world by population, and the third on the American continent after Sao Paulo and Mexico City.

Some of its most famous symbols are the Statue of Liberty, located on Liberty Island, an island at the mouth of the Hudson River; the Brooklyn Bridge, which crosses the East River connects Manhattan and Brooklyn; the Empire State Building, a 443 meter high art deco style skyscraper, located in Midtown Manhattan. The city is generally considered one of the most important centers of world diplomacy. Along with Geneva, Basel and Strasbourg, New York is one of the few cities in the world that serves as the headquarters of a major international organization without being the capital of a country. Together with Milan, London and Paris it is considered one of the world capitals of fashion.