Marvel is an American publishing house owned by Marvel Entertainment, a subsidiary of The Walt Disney Company. Also known as The House of Ideas, it is one of the main entertainment companies in the world founded on comic book characters including Spider-Man, the X-Men, Captain America, the Fantastic Four, Iron Man, Hulk, Thor, the Avengers and Devil; of these it uses franchises in other entertainment media, publishing and merchandising.

The company was founded in 1939 under the name Timely Publications and from the early 1950s began to be known as Atlas Comics; the name Marvel dates back to 1961, when the Fantastic Four series and others dedicated to superheroes created by Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko and others debuted. Marvel was purchased by Disney in 2009.

Characters such as Spider-Man, Iron Man, Captain America, Devil, Hulk, the X-Men and the Fantastic Four - whose first issue of the dedicated series (1961) coincides with the beginning of the Marvel Universe - are part of the period known as the Silver Age of comics, which brought superheroes back into fashion, which after Fredric Wertham's crusade which put an end to the Golden Age, had entered a crisis.

The first issue of the X-Men series, published in 1991, is the comic that holds the record for worldwide sales, i.e. approximately 8 million copies.