Lawmen: Bass Reeves Saga Premieres Nov 5 on Paramount+

Marshal legend reborn in gripping historical drama series.

by Nouman Rasool
Lawmen: Bass Reeves Saga Premieres Nov 5 on Paramount+
© Roy Rochlin/GettyImages

As fans eagerly anticipate the continuation of the '1923' saga into its second season and prepare for the Yellowstone universe to expand with season 5 part 2 in November 2024, a new riveting chapter is about to unfold with the introduction of a historical figure on the small screen.

"Lawmen: Bass Reeves" is the latest offering from the acclaimed creator Taylor Sheridan, starring David Oyelowo as the legendary Bass Reeves, who, after being born into slavery in 1838 in Arkansas, rose to become the first African American U.S.

marshal west of the Mississippi River, defending the rugged territory that is now Oklahoma. The dramatized series "Lawmen: Bass Reeves" promises to blend historical fidelity with the gripping narrative audiences have come to expect from Sheridan's productions.

According to, Reeves' unprecedented career featured a tenure as a marshal that brought justice to the Wild West. This role is not just a dive into history but an exploration of a man whose life story is etched into the very fabric of American lore.

For those ready to delve into Reeves' adventurous life, the show premieres with its first two episodes on November 5, exclusively on Paramount+. This marks the beginning of a high-stakes journey through the lawless landscapes and gripping encounters of 19th-century America.

Reeves Series Schedule

Keeping up with "Lawmen: Bass Reeves" is essential for history buffs and action aficionados alike. Here's the full breakdown of the season's airing schedule on Paramount+ for those eager to circle their calendars:

  • Episode 1: "Part I" and Episode 2: "Part II" double feature on November 5, kick-starting the adventure.
  • The narrative unfolds weekly, with Episode 3: "Part III" launching on November 12.
  • Tensions rise with Episode 4: "Part IV" on November 19.
  • Episode 5: "Part V" on November 26.
  • The journey continues with Episode 6: "Part VI" on December 3.
  • Episode 7: "Part VII" on December 10.
  • The season culminates with Episode 8: "Part VIII" on December 17, wrapping up the inaugural season's tale.
Viewers are thus invited to tune in to Paramount+ for this historical portrayal mixed with high-voltage drama.

As the narrative of Bass Reeves unfolds, the audience will be treated to a story of valor and justice that transcends time, reminding us of the complex tapestry of American history and the heroes often left unsung.